Club History

Our club was originally established as the Warnbro Surf life Saving Club in 1980 to promote the ideals of Surf Life Saving in the Rockingham district.  It possessed little equipment and did not have a clubhouse or equipment storage facilities.  As membership grew and more equipment was acquired, the need for a base became critical.  With the support from Rockingham City Council, club fund raising and parental assistance the club established a small gear shed at Waikiki Beach in 1983.

By the late 1980’s the club had reached a crossroads in its development and relocated to Golden Bay.  Despite hard work, local support and promises of land grants the club was not able to establish a clubhouse at Golden Bay.  In 1993 an opportunity came to relocate to Secret Harbour and with the generous support of Secret Harbour Developments, The City of Rockingham and the Lotteries Commission. Secret Harbour Surf Club opened its new club rooms on 9th December 1994.

The construction of a new enhanced multipurpose Secret Harbour Surf Life Saving Club (SHSLSC) Pavilion is a major infrastructure priority for the City of Rockingham.  With significant growth in the number of persons visiting the Secret Harbour beach and the ageing nature and limited capacity of the existing clubhouse, this is an important project for the City to enhance beach safety provision, activate a foreshore precinct and ensure the sustainability of the SHSLSC and local community groups.

With growing lifesaving responsibilities and the membership base, SHSLSC again recognised the need to update our club facilities. Over a 10 year period in consultation with the City of Rockingham and other community partners the plans for  brand new facility adjacent to the existing 20 year old structure construction of a multi million dollar building commenced in 2015.

The new SHSLSC building was completed in 2016 and now provides members with modern and dynamic club rooms that enable a diverse range of services, activities and public amenities for Club members, visitors and families from throughout the Rockingham municipality and surrounding region to be undertaken. The new facility enables us to provide beach safety and patrols, general sport and recreation, community use to multi-purpose meeting rooms, education and training opportunities, commercial prospects, health and well-being for people of all ages and abilities.

The club membership has grown over the last seven years to a membership base of over 1000 members.

The Secret Harbour Surf Life Saving Club has achieved a lot over many years. As a Club we continue to be committed to our Vision and Mission statements and it is only through the dedicated and passionate support of our members that we are able to achieve the goals of our stated vision and mission statements each season.

Secret Harbour SLSC Life Members

David Andrew
Robyn Bevan
William Bevan
Debbie Bird
Stephen Ford
Mark Hainsworth
Max Hannah
Richard Lowe
Ross Onions
Wayne Parker
Megan Williams
Carolyn Wilson
Digby Wilson



Surf Life Saving Australia National Awards of Excellence

2014 SLSA DHL Club of the Year
2014 DHL Lifesaver of the Year: Rob Bates
2014 Assessor of the Year: Sharee Hart
2009 National Volunteer of the Year Garry Williams


Secret Harbour SLSC Long Service Members

Vanessa Aitkins

Daniel Andrew
Mark Dove
Joe Ford
David Howarth
Ryan Hicks
Mark Lehmann
Sarah Lowe
Alannah Maurice
Samuel Maurice
Lee McGovern
Ian Phillips
Brendan Privilege
Rohan Pugh
Lorry Rule
Mark Thomas
Mark Turley
Ron Wade
Matthew Wilson

Surf Life Saving WA State Awards

2021 Trainer of the Year: Garry Williams
2021 Youth Lifesaver of the Year: Nicholas Graydon
2017 Official of the Year: Carolyn Wilson
2016 Official of the Year: Carolyn Wilson
2015 Patrolling Club of the Year (5th consecutive year)
2015 DHL Volunteer of the Year: Carolyn Wilson
2015 Haywood Shield for Administration Club of the Year
2014 Club of the Year
2014 Patrolling Club of the Year
2014 Lifesaver of the Year: Robert Bates
2014 Assessor of the Year: Sharee Hart
2014 Lifeguard of the Year: Daniel Andrew
2013 DHL Volunteer of the Year: Megan Williams
2013 Assessor of the Year: Garry Hart
2013 Patrolling Club of the Year
2012 Patrolling Club of the Year
2011 Patrolling Club of the Year